image appears to be damaged

Announcement of new releases, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
jasonfdarr
Posts: 2
Joined: 10.12.2016 06:18

image appears to be damaged

Post by jasonfdarr » 16.02.2017 08:52

Hi, I am having some issues with the software. I am using an iMac 27in (OS 10.12.3)
Photoshop/lightroom CC 2017

When I am exporting from helicon focus back to lightroom (DNG file) the files are visible in lightroom, and look ok, but lightroom says "image appears to be damaged".

I was wondering what this is and how to fix it.

Thanks
Jason

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 16.02.2017 14:43

That was reported once before by another user, but so far we don't understand why this problem occurs and how to fix it.

Clipping path
Posts: 21
Joined: 26.09.2017 14:33

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Clipping path » 06.10.2017 21:32

i think its not a problem from Helicon soft program. you should contact to lightroom support to help you out.

BobStone
Posts: 34
Joined: 03.06.2017 10:13

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by BobStone » 07.10.2017 10:33

I'm getting that error message as well. It occurs when opening a DNG in Adobe Camera Raw, but only on images that have had some retouching. Unretouched image stacks do not generate that message. The 'damaged' images seem to open correctly and can be adjusted, then sent to Photoshop as a Smart Object. So no obvious corruption in the pixels. But I notice when the DNG is opening in ACR, the unretouched image appears momentarily, and is then replaced by the retouched image ... somewhat unexpected.

WIN 10, ACR 9.12.1.790, DNG Converter 9.12.0.784

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 09.10.2017 15:20

I suspect your edits are saved in an XMP files rather than being embedded into the image data itself.

kozboPhoto
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.06.2018 22:00

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by kozboPhoto » 20.03.2019 09:06

I am seeing the same problem. I often see "This image appears to be damaged" once I try to edit the image in Lightroom. I am using the latest Helicon Focus 7.5.1 Pro, and Lightroom Classic CC 8.2 with Camera Raw 11.2. I am running a MBPro 13 OS version 10.4

I am making a stack of 6 images and using methods A, B and C. Sometimes I get the error and sometimes I done. Two distinguishing bits of data are that I am not making any edits to the stack, and that I have autoimport enabled in Lightroom. When I disabled autoimport, and shut down Helicon Focus before importing I didn't get the error. Note that the file did not exhibit the problem when I did not exit Helicon Focus too, so I don't think that is it. But when I turned autoimport back on the problem came back.

BobStone: were you using any sort of auto-import feature?

Wild Guess here:
The fact that I don't always get the error implies to me that it is some sort of race condition. Is it possible that Helicon Focus closes the file before it has written out the entire DNG information? Then lR starts to read it and ends up with some inconsistent data?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 20.03.2019 16:17

That is a very clever and plausible hypothesis. The image data is saved first, then the file is closed, then it's reopened to write the metadata. I imagine a raw file (including DNG) without metadata would be considered broken or at least incomplete if Lightroom manages to pull it in before all the metadata is saved.
While it would be possible in principle to only open and close the file once, it's not currently possible in Helicon Focus so I don't see a solution. Would be nice if Lightroom had some sort of timeot to wait before pulling a new file in.

BobStone
Posts: 34
Joined: 03.06.2017 10:13

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by BobStone » 22.03.2019 10:17

I do not use Lightroom or any automated import/export. Even on DNG files that produced the 'Image appears damaged' notice, I was able to edit in ACR and import into PS as a Smart Object without any problems.

ACR is clearly doing some king of analysis of the DNG file; wish it had a way to export a hint about what triggers that warning.

I did find this reference which hints at the problem.

https://www.dpbestflow.org/data-validation/dng-validation

Kenneth Lee
Posts: 1
Joined: 12.05.2019 15:28

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Kenneth Lee » 12.05.2019 16:10

I am getting the same message when I open a file exported as DNG (see attached file ScreenShot.png)

I am using Photoshop on MacOS, which opens the exported DNG file in Adobe Camera Raw. No matter how many times I export the file, when I try to open it the message appears. When I try to save the file from Adobe Camera Raw, the process fails with another message the the file is damaged.

This is a serious bug: one of the compelling features of Helicon Soft is the ability to import a series of RAW files and export the file as DNG. With this approach we can apply corrections to the final DNG file (such as lens profiles) instead of having to apply all corrections to the original RAW files. This is very convenient, a time saver.

I have placed a copy of the broken DNG file at www.kennethleegallery.com/images/helicon/Broken.dng
Attachments
ScreenShot.png
(838.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Andrewgupta
Posts: 2
Joined: 03.06.2019 20:44

Re: image appears to be damaged

Post by Andrewgupta » 03.06.2019 20:46

jasonfdarr wrote:
16.02.2017 08:52
Hi, I am having some issues with the software. I am using an iMac 27in (OS 10.12.3)
Photoshop/lightroom CC 2017

When I am exporting from helicon focus back to lightroom (DNG file) the files are visible in lightroom, and look ok, but lightroom says "image appears to be damaged".

I was wondering what this is and how to fix it.

Thanks
Jason
That is what happening to me right now thats why i created account to know what the solution of this problem is

Post Reply