Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
peter3015
Posts: 15
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by peter3015 » 17.01.2018 22:01

Has anyone successfully set up Helicon Remote on a Canon 80D using the in camera WiFi facility.

I have been able to connect to the app but the smart phone option does not give me any functionality. I receive a time out error on Helicon if I try to do anything on Helicon.

At the suggestion of Helicon support I have tried to connect via the desktop option (using 80D wifi) and have obtained a connection with functionality. However the connection seems to drop out randomly when trying to take a focus stack.

I have reset the camera and reinstalled the Helicon Remote app.

Would be grateful for any advice or a step by step guide if anyone could supply one.

Regards, Peter

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3490
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 18.01.2018 17:22

It has recently became known that Smartphone mode is not compatible with Helicon Remote with some new Canon cameras (possibly, all of them released after a certain point in time). I can confirm that 80D and 6D Mk II are on the list. These cameras do, however, work in EOS Utility mode.

Now, as for the camera dropping connection for no apparent reason: we don't have any idea why that occurs, but we're keeping an eye on it and will investigate the problem.

peter3015
Posts: 15
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by peter3015 » 18.01.2018 21:19

Thanks Stas.

Is there any specific information I could supply to help resolve the issue?

Cheers, Peter

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3490
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 19.01.2018 12:06

None right now, thanks for the offer. We've just got a 80D, will experiment with it.

peter3015
Posts: 15
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by peter3015 » 20.01.2018 01:28

I have just attempted (4 times) to take a series of photos for a stack (7 photos) but have experienced loss of camera to Helicon remote connection during the taking of the photos.

This was using the eos utility connection mode.

I have successfully connected Cascable and Canon connect to the 80D with no issues and the 80D to the eos utility.

As it stands Helicon Remote is currently unusable. Hope to hear from you as soon as you have any results from your use of the 80D

Peter.

Juppeck
Posts: 10
Joined: 08.04.2018 03:56

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by Juppeck » 16.04.2018 23:37

Stas Yatsenko wrote:
18.01.2018 17:22
It has recently became known that Smartphone mode is not compatible with Helicon Remote with some new Canon cameras (possibly, all of them released after a certain point in time). I can confirm that 80D and 6D Mk II are on the list. These cameras do, however, work in EOS Utility mode.
And you can add the EOS 5D Mark IV to the list. The experience confirms my expection. The newer Canon EOS models handles many internal things quite different as older models. I assume that this time was the start of release the EOS 80D. This is followed by the later relased 77D, 6D Mk-II and 5D-MK4. I would not surprized if the Canon EOS-1D X Mark II and EOS M50 will also have a different behavior as the models released before in various points of interconnection. Third-Party peripherie often got issues, who previously works without.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3490
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 17.04.2018 11:03

You're right, 5D Mk IV also cannot be used in Smartphone mode right now with Helicon Remote. Don't know for sure about 77D, but your assumption seems reasonable, it's probably affected as well.

dxjunky
Posts: 2
Joined: 25.05.2018 00:33

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread post by dxjunky » 25.05.2018 01:42

The EOS 80D has got no issue using Wifi and Helicon remote. Be care about the "Interframe Delay" at capture time. Some heavy lenses needs more time as 300ms.
Lost connections are often possible if a router is used between the computer and body. The data tranferrate will be dropped and somtimes it will loose the connection. I had successful and reliable wifi connection using the direct-connection instead via an access point.
BTW: somtimes the wifi network is quite busy and will be also a source of instablities.

Post Reply