.rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Report bugs and get support here

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

.rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby sh00ter » 29.08.2010 15:18

Using HF 4.93, just updated the Adobe converter, but still get the error msg, 'Adobe converter error, using embedded converter', when I try to load a .rw2 image. Why is that?

cheers, sh00ter/Jeff
sh00ter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29.08.2010 09:26

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 30.08.2010 11:34

Jeff,

We followed instructions from our site (http://www.heliconsoft.com/adobedng.html) and adobe dng converter works ok, at least for our raw files. Please upload one of your raw files to our server (as described at http://www.heliconsoft.com/ftp.html) and we will check it too.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby sh00terI » 01.09.2010 07:35

Hi Stas, thanks for the reply. I followed the ftp instructions, and was able to log in, but not upload.
Getting a dialogue
200 type set to I
227 set to passive mode
550 P1030564.RW2: permission denied.
It could be because it's a 10.5mb file and I have a slow wireless connection.
Perhaps another .RW2 user reading this could let Stas test their file?

cheers, Jeff
sh00terI
 

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 02.09.2010 12:51

I will send you a private message with my email. Please send this raw file via email Yatsenko.Stas@gmail.com
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby sh00ter » 06.09.2010 07:21

Thanks Stas. File is sent.
sh00ter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29.08.2010 09:26

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 06.09.2010 14:09

Thanks for the file. We checked it with the latest Helicon Filter version. Adobe DNG converter does not understand it, but DCRAW does. Please download and upldate it from this page:
http://www.heliconsoft.com/dcraw.html
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby sh00ter1 » 06.09.2010 14:43

Ok, thanks for that, Stas. Much appreciated. I'll let you know how it works.

cheers, sh00ter/Jeff
sh00ter1
 

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Lümmel » 25.02.2011 18:53

You additionally have to update the file "dng.exe" in the helicon folder. Download the current DNG-SDK: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/dng/dng_sdk.html, extract it, search for "dng_validate.exe", rename it to "dng.exe" and copy it to the helicon folder. Than the update of DNG-Converter works fine with RW2-files.

Regards,
Lümmel
Lümmel
 

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 28.02.2011 11:59

Thanks for letting us know!
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby scorman » 15.03.2011 20:04

Stas,
Following this thread, I downloaded both the latest dngconverter and DCraw and they seem to function...sort of

with DCraw as raw setting:
the dng files opens (very fast) as a 16bit,
the rw2 file opens very sloooowly, but only shows jpeg 8bit

However, for both above the "source image" becomes very light in intensity ( +2EV?) compared to the original only AFTER I start to process "set up filters"
Unless I am missing something basic here in the setup,
send me an email addy, and I can send you a few screen grabs which show above problem

when I use dngconverter setting, the rw2 only shows 8b/channel ... how do I get 12 or 16 bit??
and opening a dng file takes a loooong time also,
but neither exhibits the lightening effect noted before.

Stew Corman
scorman@stny.rr.com
scorman
 

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Lümmel » 16.03.2011 12:26

Stew,

from user to user :wink: : The information in the status bar concerning the colour depth etc., as well as the Exif information on the right, belong to the preview image that is embeded in the rw2. Try to klick on "safe as" afterwards and watch the picture information. You will see that it is 16 bit and 48b/pixel.

The internal information handling of .rw2 files seem to be a littel bit buggy, but it doesn't affect the processing of the picture in full colour depth.

HTH,
Lümmel
Lümmel
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15.03.2011 12:37

Re: .rw2 & Adobe Raw Converter

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 17.03.2011 12:48

Infomation about the files are always shown useing embedded raw converter. If it is not able to covert raw file, it shows informaiton about thumbnail inside of the raw file. When you open this RAW file, it is actually processed by different RAW converter (DCRAW or Adobe DNG Coverter) so the color depth and resolution are correct.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05


Return to Helicon Filter: Bugs and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron