Wish list for Helicon Filter v.5

Helicon Filter: Want new feature? Suggest it here

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Wish list for Helicon Filter v.5

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 29.02.2008 18:53

As you know we are working on the version 5 of Helicon Filter. We are creating it from scratch to overcome structural limitations of the current version.

This is a good opportunity to optimize interface and I hope to hear your suggestions. Please post and discuss "wish list" in this forum.

You are also welcome to subscribe to our mail list for beta testers (http://www.heliconsoft.com/news.html?&n ... &tx_ttnews[tt_news]=16)

bricecom
Posts: 4
Joined: 18.10.2007 08:51

Unread postby bricecom » 01.03.2008 00:08

Hi Dan and everybody in the Helicon Team,

I would really appreciate more speed when HF is loading and demosaicing my 40D's RAWs (400D's RAWs as well). That's the only thing I have to complain about ;)

Thanks a lot !

--
Bricecom from France.
Canon EOS 40D + Flash Speedlite 580 EXII
Canon 70-300mm F/4-5.6 IS USM and 85mm F/1.8 - Sigma 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 - Kenko TC 1,4X and Extension Tubes

trondeh
Posts: 14
Joined: 09.09.2005 09:20

Let user select work-flow

Unread postby trondeh » 01.03.2008 18:51

Hi!

I would REALLY love to be able to select my own work-flow. As today, having retouch after frames is still a mystery! I would like to start with crop, then do WB and THEN all the others. Others would probably have another work-flow. If v5 implemented a work-flow where this is up to the user, it would be great!

I would also like a relight feature such as in LightZone, that works extremely well for many pictures.


-
Trond

SLB_000

Unread postby SLB_000 » 03.03.2008 11:24

I have found that almost always I am having to save multiple times after editing - one for use immedately, and one to keep the full, 16-bit information for storage / later adjustment (but converted from RAW so others can access it).

Would it be possible to have a save mode which stores both a Jpeg and an uncompressed TIFF file in one selection - they could use the same main filename. (Currently Helicon moves out of save mode once you save the file ready for loading another file, so this is even more cumbersome than you might expect).

Thanks,

Simon / SLB_000

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 03.03.2008 19:26

>I would really appreciate more speed when HF is loading and demosaicing my 40D's RAWs (400D's RAWs as well). That's the only thing I have to complain about

We use Canon SDK or DCRAW as an alternative.

>I would REALLY love to be able to select my own work-flow. As today, having retouch after frames is still a mystery! I would like to start with crop, then do WB and THEN all the others. Others would probably have another work-flow. If v5 implemented a work-flow where this is up to the user, it would be great!

Yes, you will have it in the new version

>I would also like a relight feature such as in LightZone, that works extremely well for many pictures.

Zone size slider should give you very similar results. I would appreciate more details and examples.

rachlinent
Posts: 17
Joined: 08.04.2005 18:31
Location: Durango CO USA
Contact:

Unread postby rachlinent » 03.03.2008 20:42

Two things I would like to go backwards to the way it used to be are the Auto Detect and the Haze Compensation.

I find the Auto Detect's five fixed settings to be insufficient and often wish I could slide to a value that work's best ( i.e. 17%).

The Haze Compensation seems to be so extreme that I am usually in the less than 20% area.

Could we have a choice in Settings/Preferences to choose the method of operation - the way it is now or modified as I mentioned?

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 03.03.2008 21:11

>I find the Auto Detect's five fixed settings to be insufficient and often wish I could slide to a value that work's best ( i.e. 17%).

Right now Auto detect is actually a selection of several methods (25,50,75,100%). Each method is some combination of Auto contrast, Gamma and so on. What I mean is that Auto detect does not have continuous implementation. But we can add more intermediate points.

> The Haze Compensation seems to be so extreme that I am usually in the less than 20% area.

>Could we have a choice in Settings/Preferences to choose the method of operation - the way it is now or modified as I mentioned?

I've installed Miranda messanger recently and I was shocked by the number options in the preferences! I do not want to overload interface with rarely used options.

rachlinent
Posts: 17
Joined: 08.04.2005 18:31
Location: Durango CO USA
Contact:

Unread postby rachlinent » 03.03.2008 21:25

Adding more intermediate points to Auto Detect would be great. Of course, I could continue to do it manually if none of the points suits me :D

Leaving Haze Compensation the way untouched is really OK as well. I could always slow my mouse speed down if I have to :wink:

Dainis
Posts: 1
Joined: 03.03.2008 15:28

Unread postby Dainis » 04.03.2008 01:12

big thank you for the great software! :D
is it possible to add possibility to convert working color profiles to specific printer color profiles for output images?
it would be really great if user could add his own printer color profiles

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 04.03.2008 11:05

>big thank you for the great software!
is it possible to add possibility to convert working color profiles to specific printer color profiles for output images?
it would be really great if user could add his own printer color profiles

Can you please explain the problem? I have never printed my photos on printer so I do not see the reason. If my image is in Adobe RGB then it is a problem of printer driver to convert it correctly to printer color space and so on. Right?

By the way, we are now working on monitor calibration utility. I was thinking to add a possibility to calibrate monitor to look as printer output (=wrong in most cases).

firexball
Posts: 21
Joined: 07.07.2007 18:10

Unread postby firexball » 05.03.2008 00:41

Maybe it would be nice to be able to use Plugins at a specific point of the workflow.

For example:
1.) internal Brightness correction
2.) internal Color correction
3.) external Noise plugin
4.) internal sharpness plugin
5.) external lens correction
6.) internal resize
7.) internal retouching

firexball
Posts: 21
Joined: 07.07.2007 18:10

Unread postby firexball » 05.03.2008 00:58

Of course it would be incredible if HF-V5 could support the PTLens library.

Or maybe better the new LENSFUN library which is based on the idea of Hugin developer Pablo d'Angelo and includes corrections of lateral chromatic aberrations. Please read this:
http://www.linux.com/feature/62136
http://lensfun.berlios.de/manual/index.html

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 08.03.2008 09:26

HF has lateral corrections too! :) If it fails please give me a sample to test.

firexball
Posts: 21
Joined: 07.07.2007 18:10

Unread postby firexball » 10.03.2008 13:43

Yes, HF has lateral correction of chromatic aberrations. But it would be nice, if the correction work automatically based on the informations of the Exif. (This should also be possible for the other corrections: barrel, vignetting, ...)

For that, HF5 should use a library (I am just wishing... :) ).
There is the old open(?) library of PTlens which could be used for corrections. But this library doesn't include CAs.
And there is the newer LENSFUN Library which could be used for that. The algorithms for the calculations should be public (I've seen some on Wikipedia...)!

So this is my wish for HF5: Automatic integrated Lens correction.

bricecom
Posts: 4
Joined: 18.10.2007 08:51

Unread postby bricecom » 10.03.2008 18:07

Dan Kozub wrote:>bricecom: "I would really appreciate more speed when HF is loading and demosaicing my 40D's RAWs (400D's RAWs as well). That's the only thing I have to complain about."

We use Canon SDK or DCRAW as an alternative.


Are you trying to say you don't have any possibility to improve the speed because you're using Canon SDK and because speed is directly linked to the method you use for decoding ? I'm so sad... :-(
Canon EOS 40D + Flash Speedlite 580 EXII

Canon 70-300mm F/4-5.6 IS USM and 85mm F/1.8 - Sigma 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 - Kenko TC 1,4X and Extension Tubes


Return to “Helicon Filter: Suggestions and improvements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests