Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Announcement of new releases, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
User avatar
Toby996
Posts: 6
Joined: 13.10.2018 23:48

Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Post by Toby996 » 24.10.2018 09:43

I'm looking at getting the complete Helicon remote and FB tube package but before I go ahead I've recently had my cameras(Canon 7D2 and 6D) calibrated to the lenses I will be using so will the FB tube affect the calibration of the camera or will it remain unaffected once the tube is not on the camera?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 25.10.2018 11:02

The tube should not affect the calibration, however, it's always better to set a conservative step between frames for focus bracketing.

User avatar
Toby996
Posts: 6
Joined: 13.10.2018 23:48

Re: Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Post by Toby996 » 25.10.2018 11:06

Stas Yatsenko wrote:
25.10.2018 11:02
The tube should not affect the calibration, however, it's always better to set a conservative step between frames for focus bracketing.
Thanks Stas. Excuse my ignorance as I'm very new to this so could you explain exactly what a conservative step is please?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 26.10.2018 10:18

Well, actually it’s mainly not about the step size, but about the range. When doing focus bracketing it’s better to set the initial point a bit closer than needed and the end point a bit farther, in order to make sure that the entire object is covered. For instance, to autofocus on the initial point and to slightly shift it closer manually. However, if you see that autofocus copes well enough, that’s fine also, whatever works.

User avatar
Toby996
Posts: 6
Joined: 13.10.2018 23:48

Re: Helicon FB tube and calibrated cameras

Post by Toby996 » 26.10.2018 11:24

Stas Yatsenko wrote:
26.10.2018 10:18
Well, actually it’s mainly not about the step size, but about the range. When doing focus bracketing it’s better to set the initial point a bit closer than needed and the end point a bit farther, in order to make sure that the entire object is covered. For instance, to autofocus on the initial point and to slightly shift it closer manually. However, if you see that autofocus copes well enough, that’s fine also, whatever works.
Thanks Stas.

Post Reply