After updating HF doesn't work at all

Report bugs and get support here

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

Kaz
Posts: 4
Joined: 07.02.2014 08:18

After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Kaz » 08.02.2014 10:27

I was using HF 5.2.6 and updated to 5.2.7 yesterday. Update was done using HF's check update function. Installation was success, but HF won't start.

After starting the program, HF logo appeared in the center of screen and stayed there forever and nothing happened. I uninstalled it clear the registry and cache, then reinstalled several versions of HF but none of the HF worked any longer.

I suspected something was wrong with my PC. However, I could install any other softwares and they have been working perfectly.
My PC's OS is win 7 64bit.
What is wrong?

User avatar
jpmccormac
Posts: 53
Joined: 30.06.2008 00:36

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby jpmccormac » 10.02.2014 02:02

I had a similar problem when upgrading to 5.2.7. I had to use Ccleaner
http://download.cnet.com/CCleaner/
to first uninstall HF 5.2.6, then clean up the temp. files and the registry files related to HFilter. Then I did a clean install of 5.2.7 and it's working fine. Hope this helps.

Kaz
Posts: 4
Joined: 07.02.2014 08:18

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Kaz » 10.02.2014 09:08

Thank you jpmccormac,

I've tried CCleaner, Glary Utilities and Advanced System Care to clean the temp and registry right after I got into trouble. But those utility softwares didn't do me a favor. So today, I used BleachBit for cleaning my PC. However, HF program still didn't run on my PC(Intel Core i7 Processor).

Thank you for your reply.
Oh, I miss my Helicon Filter.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 12.02.2014 12:10

We would be very interested to locate and fix this bug. Though, we can't reproduce it.

All, settings are stored in


c:\Users\[YOUR USERNAME]\AppData\Local\Helicon

So deleting this folder should reset the program to default settings.

Kaz
Posts: 4
Joined: 07.02.2014 08:18

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Kaz » 17.02.2014 07:14

Thank you Stas for the info.
Unfortunately, It didn't work.
Am I the only one who has this problem?
All other softwares in my PC are working fine.
My guess is that HF 5.2.6's updating process might have killed some file in my PC.
Any remedy you can think of is appreciated.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 18.02.2014 12:23

We will send you a test version in a private message. I would like to check if the bug is still there.

Kaz
Posts: 4
Joined: 07.02.2014 08:18

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Kaz » 20.02.2014 07:33

Thank you Stas for a test version.
With some degree of difficulties I was finally able to install the test version you sent to me.
Upon running, Helicon Filter logo did not appear in the center of the screen at all. Program just started without any logo.
I re-registered the program and try out Helicon Filter. I found out it couldn't process Raw data(CR2). HF could take JPEG image, however the program froze every step of the way. I don't think I can use this version.
Is there any way I can get old version back to my PC?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: After updating HF doesn't work at all

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 21.02.2014 13:37

Sure, you are welcome to use older versions:
http://www.heliconsoft.com/downloads/HeliconFilter5.2.6.exe

Your bugs look very strange, we have no similar reports and are not able to reproduce it.


Return to “Helicon Filter: Bugs and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests