Page 1 of 1

Focus stack issue

Posted: 29.06.2017 13:01
by shacharr
Hi,
just bought your Pro version.
I try to stack the two pictures.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ao403y9l8qabj94/AAAQdkrbDTukBE_2wK_6_5X2a?dl=0

I get something strange, like two objects.
Why auto align is not working.
I tried both files using Photoshop and it succeed easily.

Re: Focus stack issue

Posted: 03.07.2017 15:24
by Stas Yatsenko
Focus stacking requires that images are shot from the same viewpoint. Otherwise relative position of the object in the scene changes too much. In your case camera changed distance and viewpoint considerably. Take a look at the background and note how it shifts relative to the fly. Photoshop is better at aligning such stacks but to achieve good results you need to shoot stacks properly anyway.

Re: Focus stack issue

Posted: 03.07.2017 17:11
by shacharr
Thanks for your reply...
but even using rail the same point changes a bit...so it is impossible to use Helicon Focus using handheld shots ?

Re: Focus stack issue

Posted: 04.07.2017 13:22
by Stas Yatsenko
If the camera moves along its optical axis (as in case of macrorails) the parallax (change in relative position of objects) is negligibly small. On the other hand, if the camera swings to sides, then the result is in most cases far from perfect.