Save and reuse rendering?

Shooting in macro mode, techniques, tips & tricks
RPMtl

Save and reuse rendering?

Post by RPMtl »

I'm relatively new to using Helicon Focus. So far I am VERY impressed by its results using a Nikon D800e with a 105mm f/2.8 G macro lens.

Can I save and reuse the rendering of a stack of images?

I ask as I'll shoot a set of images ((automated using Helicon Remote / usually 6-8 images) and then repeat the sequence with either change in lighting quality, direction or modify the exposure by varying the flash output intensity -- the f/stop remains unchanged.

I would like to insure that the processing of the image sets is done in exactly the same way for all of them. I get the impression that each set is assessed individually by HF and the results do not match exactly. I'm seeing dimensional variation in some areas.

Is there a way to save the processing applied to one set of images and then apply it to others that are shot using the same 'locked down' setup and focusing steps?

Thanks for any help and sorry if this has already been asked and answered before.

Russell
Stas Yatsenko

Re: Save and reuse rendering?

Post by Stas Yatsenko »

Helicon Focus takes first image in the stack as a base and aligns all others accordingly. This means that for multiple stacks (HDR), their first image should be made with the same focusing.

I would recommend to use Helicon Remote to combine exposure and focus bracketing. Helicon Remote will make exposure bracketing for each focusing position, that ensures that resulting focus stacks are aligned the same way.
RPMtl

Post by RPMtl »

Hi Stas. Thank you of your help :-)

I think you've misunderstood what I'm doing.