Pls recommend some focussing rail for use with helicon focus

Shooting in macro mode, techniques, tips & tricks

Pls recommend some focussing rail for use with helicon focus

Post by Guest »

Hi, I have downloaded a trial version and using it with my Manfrotto 454 micro positioning plate.

The problem is that this manfrotto 454 is not smooth and the image I shot cannot be combined with the helicon focus (becuase the postioning of the subject change each time I move the cam-subject dist.)

So I am requesting recommendation for a focussing rail whichwill not have this problem. Of course - not the very expensive one.

Thanks
Dan Kozub

Post by Dan Kozub »

I have no experience with the rails but i home someone will give you recommendation.

Please make sure you really need it. The most important is that your rail enables you to change the distance in small steps. If the object is shifted to the right/left or top/bottom, it is not really a problem - the program can align images (check autoadjustment parameters of the program).

If you still have doubts, feel free to send me a problem series of photos, I will check it myself.

Our ftp server: ftp://web10f6:123456@helicon.com.ua
Saturdaze

Novoflex Castel-L

Post by Saturdaze »

I am new to this group and the software, but the focusing rack I would recommend (and with no comparison with which to judge) is the Novoflex model Castel-L. Extremely smooth and with a fine scale for precise advance. Very simple design with several options for mounting to a tripod or a block.

http://www.novoflex.de/english/html/products.htm
Tim Ernst

Change focus or distance?

Post by Tim Ernst »

This brings up a good question - is it better to change your FOCUS via the lens or change your DISTANCE via a rail? Or does it make any difference at all?

Tim Ernst in Arkansas
FredT

Post by FredT »

Does anybody have an answer to Tim's question. I'm also very interested in knowing the answer.
Dan Kozub

Post by Dan Kozub »

Tim,