Trouble with Novoflex Castel Q

Shooting in macro mode, techniques, tips & tricks

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

Zeechar
Posts: 2
Joined: 14.12.2008 19:36

Trouble with Novoflex Castel Q

Unread postby Zeechar » 14.12.2008 20:17

I just purchased this the other day along with an MP-E 65. A nice solid rail but clamp orientation is incorrect to use with a lens tripod collar. Someone in another forum suggested to buy this. It works but then I realized I spent all this money on a precision rail but there is no way to verify I am mounting this plate square to the tripod collar base. At 5:1 it could be out of alignment for stacking. No pins and it has also moved on me.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/269762-REG/Novoflex_QPL_1_Quick_Release_Plate_for.html

Fits on this.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/379019-REG/Novoflex_CASTEL_Q_Castel_Q_Focusing_Rack.html

All indications are that this should work but I can't see the base. Does anyone have this?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/269768-REG/Novoflex_QPL_AT_2_Quick_Release_Plate_for.html

My first attempt with my MP-E 65 and Helicon Focus. Great software. I know there are dust spots but I'm just experimenting.

http://zenon.zenfolio.com/img/v5/p872762708.jpg

Zeechar
Posts: 2
Joined: 14.12.2008 19:36

I just found this in the specs

Unread postby Zeechar » 14.12.2008 20:21

"Its base is configured to slip in from any direction".

I think this is the answer. I still think I will take this and the collar to a machine shop and get them to pin it on place with a couple of small screws.


Return to “Helicon Focus: Macro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests