What Dslr's allow remote focusing?

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

dougdun
Posts: 1
Joined: 09.05.2007 01:09

What Dslr's allow remote focusing?

Unread postby dougdun » 11.05.2007 10:30

With my Sony A100 I must manualy refocus the lens to sweep the focus range. This causes a certain degree of shake or movement to the camera between exposures. Are there any Dslr's that I can command the focus to shift using a remote? The camera would have to have at least a focus by wire cababilty I think.

User avatar
Dan Kozub
Posts: 1157
Joined: 24.03.2004 18:14

Unread postby Dan Kozub » 16.05.2007 12:58

I have not heard about such cameras. Anyway, this should not be a problem. Helicon Focus alignes images before merging them, so movements and shifts should not cause difficulties.

Bob J

Remote focus ability

Unread postby Bob J » 11.10.2007 07:13

The Canon 1D Mark III supports such a capability, and the new Breeze DSLR program supports it. I have not personally used it yet, but I am looking forward to doing so.

Unfortunately, the lens itself has to support auto-focus for this to wsork, so many macro lenses thay only support manual focus won't work - more's the pity.

Bob J

Starbuck

Focus bracketing

Unread postby Starbuck » 10.04.2008 15:03

The Leaf AFi will do automatic focus bracketing. You can set the camera to take 3, 5, 7 or 9 photos with the lens bracketing the focus.

There is an article showing the Helicon Focus software and the Leaf AFi at: http://tinyurl.com/4s47ab

http://www.camera-college.com/index.php ... 3&Itemid=1

BrianS
Posts: 41
Joined: 03.09.2008 15:00
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Later Canon's remote with Live View excellent

Unread postby BrianS » 08.09.2008 07:56

Probably well known by now, however just in case...

Canon's live view combined with their free tethered shooting program works a real treat. Focus steps are very small, with my 100 2.8 macro, I find I no longer need my focussing rail!! Plus I don't need to go near the camera.

An important tip. the lens needs to have auto focus turned on of course, however the camera will therefore try to errr autofocus - not good.

Solved by setting the custom function for the shutter button not to perform AF.

Brian

TheLion
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.01.2010 19:41

Re: What Dslr's allow remote focusing?

Unread postby TheLion » 11.01.2010 19:55

The Hasselblads H3D's (tethered) allow such automatic focus adjustment -- but they do not call it autofocus. I.e., Hasselblad says there is no autofocus with the HTS (Tilt/shift) adapter. But tethered, you can adjust the focus forever on the computer screen and the lens makes the changes remotely. I suggested giving this a name so more photographers would know -- before they buy/rent -- that the system is capable of this marvelous function. I bought Helicon, however, to avoid the tethering in the field for my landscapes. Now I plan on manual zone focusing (with the HTS when I can use it) and making the choice of what to include in the stack during post production.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: What Dslr's allow remote focusing?

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 12.01.2010 14:07

Thanks for this information. We will check if Hasselblad has SDK to control the camera. We would be interested to add support for it too.


Return to “Shooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest