Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 26.03.2018 07:57

Hi,

I new user of the rail WeMacro, and want use it with Helicon Remote on MAC V10.13.3 High Sierra.

A/Following helicon Soft website, i can use it : ''Please note that only Win and Mac OS versions of Helicon Remote 2x and later support control of StackShot Macro Rail, WeMacro rail and Trinamic Stepper Motors''.

B/ Before use, i follows wemacro advise ''Mac USB driver link V1.4 for OS sierra''

From the software Wemacro usb, that work fine. But When i want use it with Helicon Remote on MAC, soft see camera but not the rail Wemacro (soft wemacro is close ofcourse).
Test on PC Window7, work fine, Helicon Remote see the both.

C/ I try this from Helicon web using Terminal :

cd /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins
sudo mv AppleUSBFTDI.kext AppleUSBFTDI.disabled
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
restart Mac OS. ''

But always nothing !!

So, how can i fixe this issue ?

Thanks you

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 26.03.2018 12:33

It could well be that the Wemacro driver you've installed is the reason it doesn't work. Uninstall it and try again.
Also, there are now two revisions of Wemacro that use different USB serial interface chips. The original Wemacro units were using CH340 and had problems connecting to some Macs (although my unit worked fine with my Mac, after just a bit of fiddling with drivers). The new Wemacro uses FTDI chip, and is not supported by the current version of Helicon Remote (3.9.2). I don't think that you have the new version, but just in case, install the updated Helicon Remote that supports the new Wemacro revision: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1h2iq7 ... L0XMr0rgno

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 26.03.2018 13:18

Thank you for your reply Stas Yatsenko, you right, i use the Helicon Remote V3.9.1.
I will try the new tomorrow, and back here for feedback.

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 27.03.2018 07:30

After uninstall software helicon remote, and old drivers.. restart... Install the new Helicon remote ''3.9.2 M+''... Intall the drivers from wemacro for sierra ''CH34x_Install_V1.4.pkg''

I did 2 time because not working, and finally it is not working.
I really don't know what to do for that work !!

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 27.03.2018 12:30

Open the Terminal (Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal). Run the following command when Wemacro is connected and powered up. The command will list all the available serial ports. Post the output of the command.

ls /dev/{tty,cu}.*

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 27.03.2018 12:46

Here answer terminal

/dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port
/dev/cu.wchusbserial1420 /dev/tty.wchusbserial1420

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 28.03.2018 20:06

The wchusbserial1420 device is most likely Wemacro, so it looks like the Wemacro side of things is works. So far it looks like the issue may be in Helicon Remote, but I don't see what could be wrong.

Please install this version of Helicon Remote and run while Wemacro is connected and powered up: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wu0VK ... y9nWCfLj5A

Then send a bug report ~10 seconds after you launch Helicon Remote (menu -> Help -> Report a bug).

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 29.03.2018 05:26

I install the version of HR you gave to me. It not recognize the wemacro rail. I send a bug report.

Rigth, wchusbserial1420 is wemacro rail by usb. But now, the wemacro usb software see ''wchusbserial1420'', but it don't connect it. The system High Sierra 10.13.3 can lock it when want use it ?

Thanks a lot for your help :)

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 29.03.2018 10:02

So the Wemacro software doesn't work now, either?
I don't see your bug report. What e-mail did you enter when sending it?

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 29.03.2018 15:37

I reply by mp on support. You can see what adress i use for send the bug report.

Thanks

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 30.03.2018 12:24

As long as the Wemacro software doesn't work either, the problem is clearly not on our end.
What you're experiencing may well be the same reason why Wemacro switched to a different serial interface chip recently.

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 30.03.2018 17:49

I will contact wemacro. Thank you for your reactivity answers. Really appreciate it.

(will leave feedback here when the issue will be fix)

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 03.04.2018 05:46

Feedback :

From wemacro answers ''The problem was caused by the driver from the chip supplier can not work well in all Mac.Currently,we are not able to modify the driver in system.'' Also in second mail ''We had contacted the supplier on this issue too.Once they have new driver,we will inform all of our users.''

Wait and see

Toffe
Posts: 10
Joined: 26.03.2018 07:29

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Toffe » 05.06.2018 10:54

Hi,

What that mean for the new version 3.9.5 helicon remote ''Support for the new revision of the Wemacro macro rail added''

Actually, after 2 month, i always cannot use it with Helicon remote on Mac with High Sierra. Using it with app wemacro and bluetooth from iphone.

So finally I wait and see nothing from wemacro (no update of the driver https://www.wemacro.com/?p=509)

Do i miss something ?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3534
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote with Rail WeMacro on MAC

Unread post by Stas Yatsenko » 06.06.2018 20:37

This only concerns the second Wemacro revision which uses a different USB interface chip. I don't know if you have the 1st or 2nd revision. There are no changes to be made in Helicon for the first revision - the problem is not on our end. On some Macs it works and on others it doesn't.

Try this version of Helicon Remote, we've fixed one more Wemacro-related problem since the 3.9.5 release. If it still doesn't work, send us a bug report from Helicon Remote while Wemacro is plugged into the USB port and powered up (menu -> Help -> Report a bug).

https://office.heliconsoft.com/cloud/index.php/s/Sk99AKwK6Gytkrx

Post Reply