Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
peter3015
Posts: 11
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread postby peter3015 » 17.01.2018 22:01

Has anyone successfully set up Helicon Remote on a Canon 80D using the in camera WiFi facility.

I have been able to connect to the app but the smart phone option does not give me any functionality. I receive a time out error on Helicon if I try to do anything on Helicon.

At the suggestion of Helicon support I have tried to connect via the desktop option (using 80D wifi) and have obtained a connection with functionality. However the connection seems to drop out randomly when trying to take a focus stack.

I have reset the camera and reinstalled the Helicon Remote app.

Would be grateful for any advice or a step by step guide if anyone could supply one.

Regards, Peter

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3379
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 18.01.2018 17:22

It has recently became known that Smartphone mode is not compatible with Helicon Remote with some new Canon cameras (possibly, all of them released after a certain point in time). I can confirm that 80D and 6D Mk II are on the list. These cameras do, however, work in EOS Utility mode.

Now, as for the camera dropping connection for no apparent reason: we don't have any idea why that occurs, but we're keeping an eye on it and will investigate the problem.

peter3015
Posts: 11
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread postby peter3015 » 18.01.2018 21:19

Thanks Stas.

Is there any specific information I could supply to help resolve the issue?

Cheers, Peter

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3379
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 19.01.2018 12:06

None right now, thanks for the offer. We've just got a 80D, will experiment with it.

peter3015
Posts: 11
Joined: 18.12.2017 08:21

Re: Helicon Remote Canon 80D WiFi

Unread postby peter3015 » 20.01.2018 01:28

I have just attempted (4 times) to take a series of photos for a stack (7 photos) but have experienced loss of camera to Helicon remote connection during the taking of the photos.

This was using the eos utility connection mode.

I have successfully connected Cascable and Canon connect to the 80D with no issues and the 80D to the eos utility.

As it stands Helicon Remote is currently unusable. Hope to hear from you as soon as you have any results from your use of the 80D

Peter.


Return to “Helicon Remote”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests