Page 2 of 2

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 01.02.2018 10:20
by Stas Yatsenko
Same error, same solution: clear and re-enter the Wi-Fi settings in the camera body, and make absolutely sure no other app connects to it before Helicon Remote. The camera is currently bound to some other application, and will only accept connections from that application.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 01.02.2018 13:44
by mrose
Some apps keep tasks running in the background even after closing them. I had this with the Nikon Remote app. In the end I uninstalled it and restarted to stop it grabbing the network. You may have to try this with the Canon app. (it was a pretty useless app anyway).

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 01.02.2018 21:38
by Stas Yatsenko
That's a concern, yes. You probably don't need to reboot, just force-stop the offending app through Android Settings -> Apps. And revoke autostart permission from that app to prevent it from running on its own without your command.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 01.02.2018 22:58
by spiffypix
Finally got it to connect and it was very glitchy. It was like watching an online video in 1998, very staggered and slow to respond (the live view). Is that normal? I don’t love Canon Camera Connect but the live view is smooth. I adjust my light while using the live view, so it’s important that the live view is showing me what is happening in real time. Am I just seeing a temporary glitch or is the slow live view response the norm? THanks.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 04.02.2018 14:45
by mrose
Does any other Canon 5D4 user have issues like spiffypix or is Remote working perfectly for them?

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 05.02.2018 16:51
by Stas Yatsenko
We, too, observe worse live view performance with Wi-Fi connection compared to USB connection as well as compared to the Canon app (also connected wirelessly). We will look into it. Although it's not as bad as to render the app unusable, so I wonder if your laggy live view is as laggy as as ours or is it worse.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 07.02.2018 20:08
by spiffypix
For me, it kinda makes me not want to use the app, and that’s only because I’m used to using the Camera Connect app, which is very responsive. I kinda feel like I was using a T1 connection and switched to dial up LOL! Sadly, I paid the $40 for the unlimited use of the app becuase I thought I was having functionality issues because it wasn’t the full version. :/

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 07.02.2018 21:08
by peter3015
It’s kind of disappointing. I used the app for 18 months and it worked flawlessly. I could take stacks of 100 plus photos and had no problems. The live view was equally up to the mark. Then problems. First the the zoomed focus was broken on an update. This was fixed sort of. Prior to the upgrade the zoomed focus point was exactly where the image was tapped. This bug was fixed but the focus point was still off the tapped point, but usable. After researching cameras that were meant to be compatible with the app I purchased a Canon 80D but the app would not work through the smartphone mode as previously. Suggested solution was to connect through the EOS mode. Connected ok but now I suffer random loss of connection and can’t take stacks of more than about 6 or 7 photos. Sometimes I don’t even get to finish the start/end focusing process.

I liked the app when it was working as it was portable with the iPad. Totally exasperated now :(

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 08.02.2018 12:01
by Stas Yatsenko
The autofocus / zoom issue is fixed in Helicon Remote 3.9.2 which is already out for Android, will be out on Windows / Mac in the next few days, and on iOS probably next week.

As for the random disconnects, we're also aware of this and are working on the problem. It's not trivial and requires a lot of work so it will take a while, but we know how to circumvent the problem.
This is only a problem with the new Canon cameras. Previous generation cameras don't suffer this issue.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 08.02.2018 19:09
by peter3015
Thank you for the update Stas. Look forward to the resolution of the issues.

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 09.02.2018 12:14
by Strubbel1970
Just to add me to the thread.
The wireless connection between Macbook Pro / High Sierra and my Canon 5d Mark IV seems somewhat stable, but not all the time. Sometimes the focus stacking stops after 15-30 images.
On the iPad Pro 9.7 the wireless connection becomes more stable after
- deactivating the "automatic connection" option for my homenetwork
- configuring fixed ip adress and gateway for the adhoc to the 5DM4
- manual configuration in helicon remote

But on ipad its not possible to do focus stacking. The adhoc connection drops every now and then. Should be the mentioned software problem.
Looking foreward to get a new ios version :-)

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 10.02.2018 21:33
by whyphotograph
Just adding myself to the thread as well. I'm a new user of remote who can not get it to connect wirelessly either.
I manually stopped the both canon background apps. I could find no services associated with the camera.

I'm getting the following, which might explain the strange looking full screen page I'm getting from HR.
74:Language: "English"
26:Helicon Remote version 3.9.1 W
0:Full version
0:Built on Oct 24 2017 15:16:10
0:Running on Windows 10 64-bit, build 16299
0:Built with Qt 5.9.2
0:Using Qt 5.9.2
0:Compiled with MSVC ver. 1900
0:WSID: A3-58-AE-8E-32-41-41-00
1625:CHlrWidget::checkScreenDensity Current monitor ID = -626704084
0:CHlrWidget::checkScreenDensity scale_factor = 2.5
40:Vendor = Intel
0:version = 4.4.0 - Build 21.20.16.4664
0:renderer = Intel(R) Iris(TM) Graphics 540
78:CCntLiveViewPrivate::surfaceSizeChanged {464, 483}
102:CCntLiveViewPrivate::surfaceSizeChanged {663, 488}
13168:SSID = FiOS-1P1AT
2002:CHttpRequest::open : error connecting with remote socket( address = 192.168.1.2 : 49152 , sysError = 0 , err = -1 )
13:CWftDevice::canonCanConnectWithAddress : error opening socket
12993:SSID = FiOS-1P1AT
2001:CHttpRequest::open : error connecting with remote socket( address = 192.168.1.2 : 49152 , sysError = 0 , err = -1 )
0:CWftDevice::canonCanConnectWithAddress : error opening socket
11282:"Preferences" window called
67:QtWarningMsg: QWindowsWindow::setGeometry: Unable to set geometry 1704x1428+669+213 on QWidgetWindow/'CPreferencesWindow'. Resulting geometry: 1863x1428+669+213 (frame: 16, 72, 16, 16, custom margin: 0, 0, 0, 0, minimum size: 621x458, maximum size: 16777215x16777215).

Re: Wireless tethering with Canon 5D-MK4?

Posted: 12.02.2018 21:08
by Stas Yatsenko
This is a different problem than what was being discussed here previously. You need to either your PC to the camera's Wi-Fi network, or you need to connect the camera to your existing home or office Wi-Fi. In the latter case, you will probably also need to look up the IP address that your camera gets and enter it in Helicon Remote -> Tools -> Network cameras (Enter an arbitrary name, the correct IP address, and press "Add").