IOS with Canon 6D in the field

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
cbutterworth
Posts: 2
Joined: 05.07.2017 18:52

IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby cbutterworth » 05.07.2017 18:57

I want to be able to use Helicon Remote on my iPad with my Canon 6D in the field.

How can I set this up?

Thanks,
Charlie

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 06.07.2017 09:20

Please follow this link:
http://www.heliconsoft.com/HeliconRemoteHelp/english/network_manual.html#Canon6D

cbutterworth
Posts: 2
Joined: 05.07.2017 18:52

Re: IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby cbutterworth » 06.07.2017 15:01

Thanks, I had followed that manual a while ago and got connection successfully.

I then reset the camera's wifi and couldn't connect back directly between Remote and my 6D. After resetting Remote and 6D using my home network, everything works fine using the 6D to Computer option under wifi settings.

However, I also set a 6D to smartphone profile that allows camera to Remote connectivity that I can use without needing a home network.

Regards,
Charlie

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 07.07.2017 11:46

The manual needs to be updated because it currently doesn't mention the Smartphone mode, but it is now supported. So yes, definitely use the Smartphone mode in the field.
If something doesn't work, please provide more details.

timallen
Posts: 1
Joined: 20.11.2017 17:14

Re: IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby timallen » 20.11.2017 17:25

having tried (and failed) last night to connect my smartphone (iPhone 6) to my Canon 6D, I am after a bit of advice.
The manual only talks about connecting a Desktop PC to a network.
If I choose Smartphone in the 6D menu and Enable it's wifi network and connect my iphone to the 6D's wifi I just get a message saying no camera connected!
What am I missing?

Thanks

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: IOS with Canon 6D in the field

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 21.11.2017 11:23

1. Make sure the app is already running when you turn the camera on or when you connect to its Wi-Fi.
2. Look for a "Network camera" entry under "Select a camera". Tap it to connect.


Return to “Helicon Remote”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests