Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 03.06.2017 19:44

I am using the most recent demo version of Helicon Remote connected to a MacBook Pro running the latest operating system MacOS Sierra. I updated the drivers for Remote. The StackShot is connected by USB to the computer, and the Nikon D7000 also connected to the computer by USB. The StackShot in turn is connected by the appropriate cable to the rail and the power supply. The camera is set to manual mode and is positionned on a dissection microscope. The Box in the upper right hand corner of Helicon Remote indicates the Nikon 7000. It is the only menu item. Installing the lastest Helicon Remote driver does not change this. Live view is present, but the front and back setpoints will not work without an error message saying I cannot use the same point. The forward and reverse arrows on the screen for focus set points does not work, and does not operate the rail. I suspect the software is looking for a autofocus lens to set. How do I get the rail to work using Helicon Remote with the setup as described? Used by itself, the StackSoft is fully functional.

MikeCT
Posts: 96
Joined: 08.04.2014 19:56

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby MikeCT » 04.06.2017 02:35

If you look in the top right, where it shows it is seeing the Nikon, does clicking on it bring up the option to use Stackshot instead?

stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 04.06.2017 17:00

No, clicking on the camera box only brings up the Nikon D7000. No other choices.

stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 04.06.2017 20:31

The camera box on the upper right hand part of the screen only posts the Nikon camera. No other options are available, including StackShot. I installed the driver, rebooted, but no change.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3959
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 06.06.2017 11:54

Did you install some kind of Stackshot / FTDI driver? If you did - that's why it doesn't work, you need to remove the driver.
If you didn't install anything like that, send an error report while Stackshot is plugged in and powered on (menu -> Help -> Report a bug).

stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 06.06.2017 15:44

I removed the driver. When I started HR, a message came up "There is a problem that prevents HR from working with the stepper. Follow the instructions to address the problem." It says to disconnect the stepper USB, download abd run D2xxhelper installer from the FTD website, reboot MAC and reconnect the stepper. With or without the D2xxhelper, HR cannot find the focusing rail. I tried to find the Help - report a bug on the menu, but there is no Help menu, at least as far as I can see with the MAC version. I can only find Support listed. The Nikn D7000 is running on manual, no lens but coupled to a Nikon phototube on a Nikon stereoscope. Could this driver be embedded in the program?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3959
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 07.06.2017 11:29

Following those on-screen instructions should result in the positive outcome on a clean Mac OS (i. e. no other foreign drivers).

What Mac OS version are you running?

stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 07.06.2017 14:18

Mac Version is Sierra 10.12.4, the most current one. When you say "following those instructions" are you referring to the pop-up that appears on the screen once HR is opened that calls for the installation of the D2xxhelper program? That driver was removed following your previous email and has not allowed HR access to the motion controls for focus bracketing.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3959
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 07.06.2017 15:09

Please follow the instructions from this document, sections 4.2 and 4.3, to remove the FTDI drivers. Then install the package suggested by Helicon Remote and reboot Mac.

http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Documents/AppNotes/AN_134_FTDI_Drivers_Installation_Guide_for_MAC_OSX.pdf

stobbsl
Posts: 6
Joined: 03.06.2017 19:21

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby stobbsl » 08.06.2017 21:12

Yes, that solved the problem. Thankyou for your assistance with this. HR has full control of the rail. In HR, is there any way of knowing a numerical value for the forward and rear focus buttons? Basically, what is the distance (i.e.. in mm or um) between the two set points.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3959
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Helicon Remote and StackShot issue

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 09.06.2017 09:50

There's a way to calculate it, but no way to look it up instantly. You have to multiply the number of steps between the points by the step size configured in Preferences -> Stack shot.
Setting the step size to, say, 1 mm will simplify things.


Return to “Helicon Remote”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests