HR no response

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
DrD
Posts: 8
Joined: 18.09.2012 14:52

HR no response

Unread postby DrD » 24.05.2017 22:13

I have a problem with Helicon Remote 3.87 under Windows 7x64. The program starts and show the program interface, but when I click on one of the menu items, the program shows no repsonse. I have no other option then to cancel the program by the task manager. After the next attempt the window for the error report appears. But when I choose to send the message, this window also hangs without further response.
I have a parallel installation with Windows 10 on the same computer. There I have no start problem with HR.
Heleicon remote worked well for several years, but now it doesn't do any longer. Maybe, there is a problem with the last Windows Updates KB4019265, KB4019288, KB3185319?

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: HR no response

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 25.05.2017 13:22

If this happens when the camera is connected, it's symptomatic of a conflict with other camera-related software. See
http://www.heliconsoft.com/faq-helicon-remote#troubleshooting

DrD
Posts: 8
Joined: 18.09.2012 14:52

Re: HR no response

Unread postby DrD » 25.05.2017 21:43

Thanks for your answer. But even when no camera related software is active, the problem occurs.
I use HR to control the Cognisys stackshot. The stackshot triggers the camera and the camera send the image files to the PC (in this case to Olympus Studio).
This afternoon I checked out, whether there may be any services responsible (from Microsoft or other programs). After long hours I found out, that the internet connection is related to the start problem. When I disconnect the PC from the internet, I can start HR, choose Stackshot there as device and run the sequences.
So my preliminary solution now is, to disconnect the internet before starting HR. When HR is running, I can connect to the internet again.
But I don't understand, why my HR installation has problems with the internet now ...

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: HR no response

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 26.05.2017 09:53

Even so, I don't believe this is caused by some error in Helicon Remote. It's possible, but very unlikely.
If you reboot your PC, start no software, connect no devices (be it Stackshot or a camera) and launch Remote (with Internet connected), does the problem still occur?

DrD
Posts: 8
Joined: 18.09.2012 14:52

Re: HR no response

Unread postby DrD » 02.06.2017 21:42

Yes, even when I start HR immediately after reboot of the PC, without Stackshot or cameras connected and without starting any other programs, HR shows no response. That is the reason, why I suspected any services, which are started with Windows. I checked all services and found that the internet connection causes the problem, as I wrote already. So the question is, what HR want to do at the start (without success), if there is an internet connection available.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3958
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: HR no response

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 06.06.2017 11:54

We'll look into it, but I don't think it's anything that we're doing explicitly, all the network requests have a timeout of 1 second or less (and more importantly, they are carried out in a separate thread so they can't freeze the program).

DrD
Posts: 8
Joined: 18.09.2012 14:52

Re: HR no response

Unread postby DrD » 09.06.2017 22:10

Thanks for your answer. I can use the program after disconnecting the internet just for the start, so it is not really a dramatic problem. I am still very happy with HR and HF and will use it further on!


Return to “Helicon Remote”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests