D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the lead

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
pervert
Posts: 4
Joined: 21.11.2013 18:11

D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the lead

Post by pervert » 21.11.2013 18:14

Hi
Thinking about buying the new d5300 primarily to use with H remote. It is the first nikon with wireless. Just wondered if anyone knew if this will be fully supported. Will I be able to do exactly what I do on my D5000 now but without the wire and at range?
Thanks v much

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3710
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 25.11.2013 15:30

We haven't tested it. It will probably work, but we can't be sure yet.

pervert
Posts: 4
Joined: 21.11.2013 18:11

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by pervert » 25.11.2013 16:41

Stas Yatsenko wrote:We haven't tested it. It will probably work, but we can't be sure yet.
ok
ta
if i walk into a shop with a d5300, can i try it? is it (assuming it will work) easy to set up?
i would really like to try this out and then buy it!

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3710
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 26.11.2013 12:10

It should be straightforward if you know what to do. The problem is, we don't have connection instructions for simpler Nikon Wi-Fi modules like Wu-1 (to which D5300 should be similar). We only have WT-4 so have only made a manual for that.
Are you going to make your Android device a hot-spot? We haven't covered that in the manual yet either (although we should). The way we test and use Wi-Fi is connecting both Android and the camera to the same Wi-Fi router / access point.

By the way, right now D5300 is not supported by Remote, it will be in the next version that's coming out soon.

pervert
Posts: 4
Joined: 21.11.2013 18:11

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by pervert » 26.11.2013 12:43

Great. If it will be in the next soon version then that will be enough for me! I'll buy my cam then!
Just to double check - with wireless there is exactly the same function as wired connection?
Ie I get the same live view res, zoom function, bracketing etc?
I will be wanting to do this 'in the field' not connected to a wireless network.
Ta
A

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3710
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 27.11.2013 11:52

It is exactly the same function IF it works wirelessly at all.

pervert
Posts: 4
Joined: 21.11.2013 18:11

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by pervert » 02.01.2014 17:00

hi
i stalled my purchase but am now revisiting.
d5300 does work right? think its there in the supported list

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3710
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: D5300 and remote - is it exact the same but without the

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 03.01.2014 15:31

It works over USB. Why don't you go ahead and try? You don't need to purchase the program to test it.

Post Reply