remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack Shot

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
PMC
Posts: 3
Joined: 27.12.2011 02:17

remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack Shot

Post by PMC » 27.12.2011 02:58

Hi All:

I am trying to use a Nikon D-5000 on a Trinocular microscope using Stack shot to move the sample for changing the focus point and Helicon Remote to take a stack of photos. I am able to do this if I take the computer out of the circuit and actuate the shutter with Nikon Ml-L3 every time the stack shot moves. But when I connect the stack shot and the camera to my computer (Sony lap top running windows 7) using 2 different USB port, the stack shot controller shows PC but the computer does nothing. I cannot set the front or rear focus point. I can manually take one photo with Helicon Remote, change the focus and tack one more photo etc. etc. What am I doing wrong. Please help. I am running Helicon Focus 5.2.16 and Remote 2.3.14w,

User avatar
Traceologue
Posts: 18
Joined: 02.09.2009 11:21
Location: France

Re: remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack

Post by Traceologue » 28.12.2011 09:59

I currently use Helicon Remote + Stack Shot controller + StackShot Stepper Motor coupled to the fine focus knob of my BH2 microscope, with a Canon 1000D and Nikon D90 SLR. The system works perfectly if the interconnect cable between the motor and the controller is strongly inserted on both ends. But the camera is linked only to the computer (via USB cable), not to the controller.

I hope this will help.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 28.12.2011 12:10

You should be able to do the following:

1. Connect D5000 to computer, see Live View and control camera focus from Helicon Remote.

2. Connect StackShot to computer and control focusing steps from Helicon Remote.

3. Connect D5000 _and_ StackShot to computer. You should see Live View from D5000 but focusing steps should be performed by StackShot.

Do configurations 1 and 2 work as described? Do you have problems only with configuration 3?

Please make a sample stack and send us log via menu\Help\Report a bug

PMC
Posts: 3
Joined: 27.12.2011 02:17

Re: remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack

Post by PMC » 29.12.2011 02:44

Thank you both for your replies. It appears that I did not have the appropriate drivers installed in my computer to run the Stack Shot. I have now done that and everything works fine.

BTW, I am interested in finding out how you coupled the stepper motor to your microscope's focus knob. I have mounted the stack shot in a vertical direction and installed an L bracket where the camer is supposed to go and am using this setup underneath the microscope. I leave the focusing knob alone and change the focus point with the stack shot. It is not elegant but it works. I'd be interested in your comments.

Thanks.

User avatar
Traceologue
Posts: 18
Joined: 02.09.2009 11:21
Location: France

Re: remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack

Post by Traceologue » 29.12.2011 09:13

I bought an additional motor (http://www.cognisys-inc.com/catalog/pro ... 83944d2a9f) that I coupled to the microscope via a belt such as in this example http://www.flickr.com/photos/13084997@N03/5507615574/, however the motor is not fixed to the microscope stand but to a distinct heavy marble plate in order to absorb its vibrations. A more simple solution is discussed here http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... hp?t=11008 and there http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... php?t=9303. May be this could constitute an interesting topic in the Helicon Focus Micro forum?

PMC
Posts: 3
Joined: 27.12.2011 02:17

Re: remote does not communicate with Nikon D-5000 and Stack

Post by PMC » 30.12.2011 00:04

Thank you, these are all very interesting. I will try to see if I can set them up on my microscope.

Post Reply