Helicon Remote D800

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions

Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 18.08.2012 19:17

Hi, it is some time ago, I used hf remote. I changed from Nikon D3 to D800.

Unfortunately hf remote does not work with MY D800. I am on mac OSX 10.7.4.

D800 on AF s, Makro Nikor on AF, Manual exposure mode

Starting with autofocussing the nearest point works fine. But fine tuning with the remote icons <<< << < > >> >>> does not work, there is no reaction by the camera.

Is there any trick for that? Any menu point on D800 to change?

Thanks for help

flo
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 19.08.2012 12:14

I just dubble-checked with the D3: This one is working fine. So what is the issue with the D800?

Are there any presets on the D800 to take care off?

Flo
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 20.08.2012 13:38

It should work. There are no settings to change that we know of, but there's still a chance resetting camera body settings will help. If not - please send us a bug report and specify your lens.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 20.08.2012 14:46

Well, today, hr shoes "initializing Nikon Camera" but does not recognize the D800.

The D800 is set on life vie / Photo, Manual Mode 1/30 f 5.6
autofocus on,

The Lens is the AFS Micro Nikor 105 /2.8 (works fine with the D3)
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby garysevans » 20.08.2012 21:26

florian wrote:Hi, it is some time ago, I used hf remote. I changed from Nikon D3 to D800.

Unfortunately hf remote does not work with MY D800. I am on mac OSX 10.7.4.

D800 on AF s, Makro Nikor on AF, Manual exposure mode

Starting with autofocussing the nearest point works fine. But fine tuning with the remote icons <<< << < > >> >>> does not work, there is no reaction by the camera.

Is there any trick for that? Any menu point on D800 to change?

Thanks for help

flo


Hi flo,

Getting the same problem but with a 60mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor....

Gary
garysevans
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20.08.2012 19:23

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 21.08.2012 10:58

Hi Gary,

did you solve the problem?

flo
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby garysevans » 21.08.2012 11:25

Hi flo,

Not yet, not entirely sure why it doesn't work. I think the live view is dark because I'm shooting at f/8 - I'm using flash lighting - and the lens doesn't open up until it tries to focus. I'm going to try tonight on my Toshiba laptop to see if it is a Mac thing...

Cheers

Gary
garysevans
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20.08.2012 19:23

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 21.08.2012 12:44

If focus doesn't move - make sure the lens is in AF mode, reproduce the problem and send us a bug report.
As for dark image - D800 seems to have exposure simulation feature that can't be disabled, but it doesn't work in S mode so you can use that mode for working with live view picture and switch to your desired mode before shooting.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby garysevans » 21.08.2012 14:53

Thanks Stas, I'll try that later.

Gary
garysevans
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20.08.2012 19:23

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 21.08.2012 21:35

just have sent two reports with d800 /105mm micro nikkor and 24mm/1.4
both not working
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby garysevans » 21.08.2012 21:45

Yep, sent a report too! Hope we can sort this out.

Gary
garysevans
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20.08.2012 19:23

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 23.08.2012 10:02

Check your e-mail box, we've sent you a message in response to your bug report.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 23.08.2012 14:08

I have been out yesterday. I´ll give it a try tonight or n the weekend. Thanks
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby garysevans » 23.08.2012 18:58

I tried again after resetting the D800 - still exactly the same problem. Really not happy with the situation as I have some difficult macro to shoot quite urgently. I don't want to go to my D300...
garysevans
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20.08.2012 19:23

Re: Helicon Remote D800

Unread postby florian » 23.08.2012 20:19

Well, resetting the camera with the "dubble button reset" (the two green points, Quality and +-) was the right hint. hr works fine, after that.

But another problem occurred: If I start helicon focus out of helicon remote, after hr has finished shooting, I can´t save any file. HF imediatly crashes: With pressing "save" no window opens to create a file name and look for the saving conditions as known from HF; HF just crashes. When starting HF alone, loading the same images, the saving of the rendered file works fine.

Thanks for help

flo
florian
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 01.03.2011 13:28

Next

Return to Helicon Remote

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests