Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Announcement of new releases, bugs, support, suggestions

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby spacex » 12.02.2012 00:20

Hello,
I have problems using the retouching tool.

I'm working on a Mac Pro tower, 16GB ram, Lion 10.7.2. Helicon Focus is launched in 64bit mode.
The files are from a Leaf Aptus 75, converted in C1 Pro to 16bit TIFFs.
I have 13 files stacked. There is no problem creating the stacking file, but I can't utilize the retouching tool afterwards. Also, the preview is not following the curser or the browser window when moving around.
spacex
 

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 13.02.2012 13:43

We will check the retouching with big files like yours. We are now preparing updated version and working on completely new version which will have the same functionality as current Windows version including Live Preview for retouching brushes. We plan to publish it in April-May.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2727
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby spacex » 14.02.2012 19:26

The picture I'm working on contains 13 stacked images spanning 1 inch from start to stop, which makes it very difficult to see which image, or part of the image, is being used.
I'm going to look into if the retouching tool did work, but just didn't update the left-side, masked-off, live-view window.
I might have judge to quickly, when I couldn't see any live feedback in the preview window.
The retouching tool does work with the included low-res test images.
spacex
 

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 16.02.2012 15:09

Mac version is a bit outdated and I hope we will replace it with completely new one soon. You are welcome to be a beta tester, btw.

Live Preview for brushes is implemented only in Windows version now, you are welcome to test it.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2727
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby RedBuffalo » 19.02.2012 05:59

My problem is similar. I'm a registered user of HF Pro X64 running on a Mac with OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. I recently upgraded to version 4.2.8, and the retouching tool does not work properly in the new version. The image in the right window does seem to update when I paint with the cursor in the Copy Source mode, but with the Show Map box checked, the black mask overlying the image in the left window does not update. This makes it next to impossible for me to know where I have painted. After downgrading to HF 4.2.7 the retouching mode works properly.

Comments by Stas in this thread seem to suggest that this is a known bug. If this is true, why would an update with such an egregious bug be released in the first place, and when will a fix be issued?
RedBuffalo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05.01.2010 08:48

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 21.02.2012 12:17

Yes, this is a known bug but it is hard to fix. I would suggest to stay on 4.2.7 till the new Helicon Focus 6.x is released which is expected in April-May.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2727
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby spacex » 27.02.2012 02:13

It dose seem like the retouching tool works, but the Live View feature does not.
Is version 4.2.7 still available for download?

.x
spacex
 


Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby spacex » 07.03.2012 19:46

Version 4.2.7 does seem to work. It refreshes the pre-view window to the left.

One feature that would be nice in a future version, would be a feature similar to what's available in PS for refining a selection, such as Smoothen, Feather, Contrast, and Shift Edge.

Looking forward to your next update.
spacex
 

Re: Mac - Retouching tool does not work

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 09.03.2012 16:58

Thanks for the suggestions. We are trying to keep the interface as simple as possible. In most cases you do not need precise selection when cloning from source images and that is why retouching in Helicon Focus is much simpler than in PS.
User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
 
Posts: 2727
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05


Return to Helicon Focus: Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron