Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

General discussions

Moderator: Stas Yatsenko

rachlinent
Posts: 17
Joined: 08.04.2005 18:31
Location: Durango CO USA
Contact:

Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby rachlinent » 02.11.2010 20:20

I'm about to purchase a new laptop computer, finally moving to WIN 7. Does/will a 64 bit machine make a significant difference in Helicon Filter's performance to justify the extra cost? How much ram should I include to maximize performance? How much difference will a dedicated graphics card make? I'm considering the Dell Studio 15 or their Precision M4500 Mobile workstation. Does anyone have experience with either of these machines? Appreciate any suggestions and comments to help my decision since I'm a photographer and Helicon Focus is one of my most important software packages.

Howard

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 03.11.2010 13:37

Howard,

Helicon Focus is processor and memory intensive application. The performace mostly depends on CPU speed and RAM speed. Graphic card and hard disk are not so important. I would suggest to buy at least 4Gb of RAM, 8Gb would be more than enough.

rachlinent
Posts: 17
Joined: 08.04.2005 18:31
Location: Durango CO USA
Contact:

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby rachlinent » 03.11.2010 19:33

Thanks for your reply. To access 8GB of RAM would require that I get a 64 bit machine. Does Helicon Filter use the 64 bit capability other than to access the extra memory?

DrTeeth
Posts: 31
Joined: 01.11.2010 15:59

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby DrTeeth » 04.11.2010 10:59

rachlinent wrote:Thanks for your reply. To access 8GB of RAM would require that I get a 64 bit machine. Does Helicon Filter use the 64 bit capability other than to access the extra memory?


It would also require Helicon Filter to be 64 bit. If it is a 32 bit app, it can only access 2GB AIUI.

DrT

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 05.11.2010 14:55

32 bit application can access 3Gb on window XP (after some changes) and 4GB on Vista and Windows 7 64 bit (by default).

rachlinent
Posts: 17
Joined: 08.04.2005 18:31
Location: Durango CO USA
Contact:

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby rachlinent » 05.11.2010 19:07

So, I assume that Helicon Filter 5 is still a 32 bit program. Therefore, with Win 7 64 bit, there's no need for me to go above 4GB RAM and increasing to 8GB would not serve any purpose. Is this correct?

DrTeeth
Posts: 31
Joined: 01.11.2010 15:59

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby DrTeeth » 06.11.2010 20:14

rachlinent wrote:So, I assume that Helicon Filter 5 is still a 32 bit program. Therefore, with Win 7 64 bit, there's no need for me to go above 4GB RAM and increasing to 8GB would not serve any purpose. Is this correct?

From what Stas says it would. To get the full 4GB, you need extra for windows to use.

DrT

DrTeeth
Posts: 31
Joined: 01.11.2010 15:59

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby DrTeeth » 06.11.2010 20:21

Stas Yatsenko wrote:32 bit application can access 3Gb on window XP (after some changes) and 4GB on Vista and Windows 7 64 bit (by default).


My reference (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx) says "2 GB by **default**. If the application is large address space aware (linked with /LARGEADDRESSAWARE), it gets 4 GB".

Which is correct?

DrT

Guest

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby Guest » 07.11.2010 18:02

I expect my computer Tuesday afternoon. It's coming in with 4GB and has two slots. I won't know until I get it if it has a 1x4GB module so I can add a second 4GB module or if it has 2x2GB modules. If both slots are used, I'll check performance with the 4GB and decide if I want to remove the two 2GB and get two 4GB modules.

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3955
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby Stas Yatsenko » 08.11.2010 14:56

Helicon Filter can use 4Gb of memory, it is "large address aware" application. Your system will work with 4Gb but more RAM will never hurt. Helicon Filter normally uses about 1Gb with 20Mpixel images.

DrTeeth
Posts: 31
Joined: 01.11.2010 15:59

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby DrTeeth » 08.11.2010 17:21

Guest wrote:I expect my computer Tuesday afternoon. It's coming in with 4GB and has two slots. I won't know until I get it if it has a 1x4GB module so I can add a second 4GB module or if it has 2x2GB modules. If both slots are used, I'll check performance with the 4GB and decide if I want to remove the two 2GB and get two 4GB modules.


Chances are, if you bought from a good place, you will have 2 memory modules. I cannot think of a modern m/b that does not have dual channel capability, so you need 2 modules. For 8, just add another 2x2. I'd expect you to have 4 memory sockets so keep the 2x2. Modern *desktop* chipsets are limited to 16GB support.

DrT

Guest

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby Guest » 08.11.2010 23:29

We'll see tomorrow when my laptop comes in.

DrTeeth
Posts: 31
Joined: 01.11.2010 15:59

Re: Requirements for "Best" Helicon Filter Performance?

Unread postby DrTeeth » 09.11.2010 21:54

Guest wrote:We'll see tomorrow when my laptop comes in.

Sorry, forgot it was a laptop.


Return to “Helicon Filter: General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests